Lions Squad announced - Jonny Wilkinson missing

The British and Irish Lions squad to tour New Zealand has been announced.

England flyhalf Jonny Wilkinson has been omitted from the British and Irish Lions squad. Wilkinson, who helped England win the 2003 Rugby World Cup, has not played a test since drop-kicking the winning goal in the World Cup final.

There was some speculation that Wilkinson would still tour for publicity reasons.

Although there may still be hope for Wilkinson. When asked about Wilkinson and fellow injured players, Mike Tindall and prop Phil Vickery. Coach Sir Clive Woodward said at a press conference “If they confirm genuine form and fitness in the coming weeks they could still go,” he told a news conference.

Ireland captain Brian O’Driscoll has been named as captain of the Lions.

The Lions will start with a warm-up game against Argentina in Cardiff on May 23 and depart for New Zealand two days later where they will play eleven games including three tests against the All Blacks.

Backs: Ian Balshaw (England), Geordan Murphy (Ireland), Jason Robinson (England), Gareth Thomas (Wales), Shane Williams (Wales), Josh Lewsey (England), Shane Horgan (Ireland), Denis Hickie (Ireland), Tom Shanklin (Wales), Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland, captain), Gavin Henson (Wales), Ollie Smith (England), Gordon D’Arcy (Ireland), Will Greenwood (England), Stephen Jones (Wales), Ronan O’Gara (Ireland), Charlie Hodgson (England), Matt Dawson (England), Dwayne Peel (Wales), Gareth Cooper (Wales), Chris Cusiter (Scotland).

Forwards: Graeme Rowntree (England), Andy Sheridan (England), Matt Stevens (England), Garin Jenkins (Wales), Julian White (England), John Hayes (Ireland), Gordon Bulloch (Scotland), Steve Thompson (England), Andy Titterrell (England), Shane Byrne (Ireland), Danny Grewcock (England), Ben Kay (England), Malcolm O’Kelly (Ireland), Donncha O’Callaghan (Ireland), Paul O’Connell (Ireland), Michael Owen (Wales), Richard Hill (England), Neil Back (England), Martyn Williams (Wales), Lewis Moody (England), Simon Taylor (Scotland), Martin Corry (England), Lawrence Dallaglio (England).

Leave a Reply