You are currently browsing the 2 Rugby archives for the Sevens category.


Category: Sevens

Fiji win Melrose Cup

March 21st, 2005

Fiji have won the Melrose Cup after defeating New Zealand 29-19 in the final of the Seven Rugby World Cup in Hong Kong on Sunday.

Fiji, who last won the title in 1997, earlier defeated England in their semi-final which went into overtime to advance to the final. While New Zealand, the reigning Sevens World Champion, beat Australia to get their place in the final.

Fiji become the first nation to win the Sevens World Cup twice.

In the other finals played earlier. Italy won the Bowl with a 7 - 5 victory over Canada. While in the Plate competition Samoa defeated Portugal 29-7.

Sevens World Cup: Day 1 Morning Results

March 18th, 2005

The Sevens Rugby World Cup is under way with teams from accross the world competing for the Melrose Cup.

All games this morning have gone with the form book, except for the game between Tunisia and South Africa. Tunisia managed to score a 19-12 upset win over South Africa.
Read the rest of this entry »

Rugby World Cup Sevens 2005 schedule

February 21st, 2005

The full schedule for the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2005 has been released.

Kenya and Uruguay get things underway at 8:15am local time on Friday, March 18. All sixty pool games will be played on Day One and Two. The finals will be contested on Day Three.

Rugby World Cup Sevens 2005 - Day One - Friday, March 18 schedule:
(All times are local)
Read the rest of this entry »